Sylius logo

Universidad de Puerto Rico Carolina
The University of Puerto Rico in Carolina began its work on September 23, 1974 under the Administration of Regional Colleges, through Certification No. 71 (1973-74) of the Council of Higher Education. The College began its functions with a four-month academic calendar, which divides the academic year into three consecutive periods of ten (10) weeks each, turning out to be the only one in the University of Puerto Rico System. Accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, formerly the Middle State Association for Colleges and Schools, it obtained its most recent reaccreditation in 2011. Since its founding, the University of Puerto Rico at Carolina was conceived and has acted in accordance with the mission and vision of the search for truth, appreciation of the highest humanistic values ​​and respect for creative dialogue. Located in an area of ​​great development in the Municipality of Carolina, it mainly serves the educational and professional needs of the northeast region of Puerto Rico, including the municipalities of Carolina, Trujillo Alto, Canóvanas, Río Grande, Loíza, Fajardo, Vieques and Culebra. Through these thirty years of service, the UPR in Carolina has become a nutrient and producer of changes in this area, this being the one with the greatest economic, industrial and population development in the northeast of the country.